Trolley Stop Market

704 Madison Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103

(901) 526-1361
I’ve gone grudgingly, and only half heartedly, into this dark night they call organic living. Between trying to find things grown locally, making sure they don’t have any unidentified preservatives in them, and getting it all without meat (a personal decision of mine-not necessarily a part of this super popular natural living craze), I’m exhausted just thinking about shopping or eating out.  After watching “Food, Inc.,” the guilt of driving by a McDonald’s and just wishing I had an order of fries in my cup holder is suffocating.  On top of all that, who wants to pay twice as much for their food, and have to go to a different place for each thing you need? Farmers market for produce, local butcher for meat, apothecary for skin products (if you can find one in Memphis), herb shop when you’re sick (if you are really, really dedicated)…. and what if you want a tomato in December? Via con Dios my friend. 

So, I have to say Trolley Stop Market is this figurative light in the darkness of my food guilt.  They use locally grown products, which supports local farmers (again, see “Food, Inc.” to understand why this is so important).  They have extremely fresh and flavorful vegetarian options, so I was actually satisfied when I left.  My sister and friend who were with me also had plenty of meaty options, so everyone was happy. 
I ordered the Hummus Wrap with bean salad on the side. With hummus, vegetables, beans, and rice, the wrap was hearty and filling.  And all of their sandwiches come with garlic aioli, which I think I could dip brussels sprouts in and be just fine.   The bean salad, as usual, had this perfect mix of fresh herbs, which I swear I will figure out one day. 
Margarita Pizza
But the real star of the show was the Margarita Pizza which my sister ordered. It reminded me vaguely of this wonderful pizza that I gorged myself on for 6 weeks while I studied in Argentina. But I have to say it might have been even better than my Argentine guilty pleasure.  The crust was thin and crispy (but not obnoxiously oily and puffy like you get at some fast food places). Then it had fresh mozarella, basil, and tomatoes. Yes, it’s March and they had ripe tomatoes. I don’t know how they manage to get these from local farmers this time of year, but for my sanity, I’m assuming there is an all natural green house involved.  
Go check it out, and eat guilt free! 
You can find more information on “Food, Inc.” at: Hungry for Change . Or you can watch it instantly on Netflix at this link. If you are inspired by the film, consider getting started in the movement by participating in Meatless Mondays.  

Trolley Stop Market on Urbanspoon

